Coinbase (customer data theft and extortion) other on 2025-05-11

Other, 11 May 2025. Last verified 4 Nov 2026.

major
Reported loss
Not stated
no amount published
Recovered
-
nothing reported
Status
Unknown
updated 26 Oct 2026
Date
other

Summary

Coinbase disclosed in an SEC filing that a threat actor who had paid overseas support contractors or employees to pull customer data from internal systems demanded money on 2025-05-11. No passwords, private keys or customer funds were accessed, and Coinbase estimated related expenses at $180 million to $400 million.

Protocol
Coinbase (customer data theft and extortion)
Type
Other
Reported loss
not stated
curated history · updated 2026-10-26 15:28 UTC

Facts and where they come from

Approved facts and their primary sources
FactValueSource
DateMay 11, 2025sec.gov ↗
Causepaid support contractors or employees outside the USsec.gov ↗
Scopeno passwords, private keys or customer fundssec.gov ↗
Estimated expenses$180 million to $400 millionsec.gov ↗

Primary sources

Our own summary of facts published by the sources above. We do not attribute fault beyond them. Amounts are as the sources state them (no USD conversion by us); links and quoted figures last checked 2026-11-04.

Get the next one first

How we report incidents

LiveHyperliquid markets 4sOperationalHyperliquid positions & whales 3sOperationalLiquidation heatmap & levels 11sOperationalLighter markets & liquidations 8sOperationalLighter positions & heatmap 3sOperationalLighter RH positions & heatmap 7sOperationalBinance markets 51sOperationalBybit markets 25sOperationalBinance liquidations 8sOperationalBybit liquidations 8sOperationaldYdX positions & heatmap 16sOperationalGMX positions & heatmap 5sOperationalLong/short & open interest history 2mOperationalOrder books & trade flow 4sOperationalOn-chain transfers 10sOperationalSecurity monitor 43sOperationalBlockmetric Sentiment 4sOperationalOfficial news 8mOperationalAlert delivery 3sOperational10:26:57 UTCData: Blockmetric Research · Binance · Bybit